Software Testing >> Mobile Devices, Mobile Apps - Embedded Systems Testing

Pages: 1
Mrinal_Nandi

Reged: 04/23/12
Loc: Mumbai, India
Plz help to decide mobile automation test tool
      #715334 - 08/27/12 04:30 AM

Hi All,
I am new to mobile application automation. In my new project client is looking to automate their mobile application testing. The target platform is the iPad, Android.
Please guide me to select the best tool available in market.

Note: It would be a function testing for their apps not any performance or load testing. Tools can be freeware or paid.

Thanks in advance...

--------------------
Regards,
Mrinal Nandi

Follow LinkedIn

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
yagsyModerator

Reged: 11/26/01
Loc: Greater Boston Area finally
Re: Plz help to decide mobile automation test tool [Re: Mrinal_Nandi]
      #715371 - 08/27/12 08:29 PM

First, what do you mean by "best tool"? What exactly are you trying to test within the application?

Have you read One Size Fits All blog post?

In order to really help you and give you better advice, can you please indicate exactly what kinds of tests you want to automate? If you haven't been testing in the mobile world for long, then you need to formulate a mobile test plan. Until you do this, there is very little for any of us to give you advice.

If you do not have a mobile test plan, then I would suggest you start reading:

Defining Mobile Testing
Hardware Tests for the Mobile Software Apps Tester
Charging a Mobile Device tests
Deploying a mobile test strategy

As you can see there is a lot of information here in this forum. Please review and maybe narrow down your request.

Remember not one size fits all and there is no such thing as a "best tool" but remember it's not about the "best tool" but instead what is the best chosen tool for the tests you want to do. Again, it comes down to what tests you wish to conduct.

--------------------