Downloads

Miscellaneous Forums >> Training & Certification

Pages: 1
RichardQM

Reged: 02/27/12
Test Automation training
      #699686 - 02/27/12 01:26 PM

Hi,

I am new to test automation. I have been QM for many years and have programing experence. Now I am looking for the opportunity of Test Automation training, not tool specific, more on Framework and approach. I don't want to build scripts which are not flexible, difficult to maintain, need a lot rewrites when applications change. Can anyone give me some advise or know which one is good? My location is Tornto.

Thanks a lot,

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
dlai

Reged: 05/02/06
Loc: CA, USA
Re: Test Automation training [Re: RichardQM]
      #700555 - 03/06/12 07:47 AM

Sorry I don't know any off the top of my head. As for where I learned about frameworks and how to design and put one together, most of the knowledge was transferred from colleagues or from insights I've gained while attending various conferences, and from knowledge derived from software engineering principles in general..

Frameworks themselves are not test specific. Good programming patterns in software engineering are also good programming patterns when translated into testing. For example, the common MVC (Model View Controller) easily translates to testing as Test Definition/Object Recognition/Test Implementation Layer. Where your Objects Layer deals with the UI elements, Your implementation layer you implement atomic steps, and your Test Definition acts like a model of the test. From there you can divide up or insert more layers to add different levels of abstractions. For example, you can have a localization layer between the implementation layer and UI recognition layer to support testing localized version without having to alter your tests.

--------------------
David Lai
Sr. QA / Test Lead
LinkedIn profile

jimhazen

Reged: 01/31/02
Loc: Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Re: Test Automation training [Re: dlai]