Downloads

Software Testing >> Unit Testing

Pages: 1
ixora

Reged: 03/08/11
How to introduce Unit Testing
      #663520 - 03/08/11 06:19 PM

Hi,

Very recently I started my job as as QA Engineer and I have no previous experience in this field. I was assigned to design the Test Strategy for one of the company's product.
I've done some research and based on my reading, one of the best approach is to use unit testing, among other types of tests.

The problem is, when I talked to the developers, they admitted that they have never done unit testing before. They've tested their code, but not in the way of creating a test class for each class developed and testing each method one by one.

I had thought about introducing Unit Testing in the Test Strategy but I think the developers might not be too happy with it because the implementation of unit testing will double their workload.

Therefore I hope the members of this forum can help me on this. Should I insist on introducing Unit testing or is there another alternative to solve this problem?

For the info, I am the only QA Engineer here and previously they have no QA Engineer.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
eyp

Reged: 03/16/11
Re: How to introduce Unit Testing [Re: ixora]
      #664544 - 03/16/11 08:18 AM

Hello, I'm not a QA Engineer but a Software Architect & Developer so I would be at the developers side. You must explain them that doing unitary tests have a little workload at the beginning, but along the life of the system it will be less work for everyone.

They will have a better & realible code. If someone change something so a test is broken, they will be able to fix the issue before an incidence arrives.

Unit testing is part of any serious development process. I know It might be tedious for some developers to do unit tests, but they are rewarded when tests passes

Edited by eyp (03/16/11 08:19 AM)

AnandTambey
Advanced Member

Reged: 11/11/07
Loc: India