Downloads

Miscellaneous Forums >> General Discussion

Pages: 1
KJG

Reged: 01/23/12
New QA Manager
      #697037 - 01/30/12 10:14 AM

Hello all,

What's the first course of action for an untrained software tester?

I am a mechanical engineer, who is fortunate enough to have found a home as a QA manager. For the last two years I have been manually testing the software, using adhoc methodologies, which are based around my knowledge of the use of the software. With the new focus and title this is due to change. Any guidance will be greatly accepted.

I have acquired the foundations of Software testing (third edition), this is my current start point...

Thanks in advance

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Joe Strazzere

Reged: 05/15/00
Loc: Massachusetts, USA
Re: New QA Manager [Re: KJG]
      #697041 - 01/30/12 10:42 AM

Are you actually managing people? Your first course of action would be to talk with them.

Also, these might help:
http://www.allthingsquality.com/2010/04/qa-leaders-checklist.html
http://www.allthingsquality.com/2011/11/top-5-books-about-testing-and-quality.html
http://www.allthingsquality.com/2011/11/how-do-you-keep-in-synch-with-your-test.html
http://www.allthingsquality.com/2010/04/glossary-of-testing-terms.html

--------------------
- Joe
Visit AllThingsQuality.com to learn more about quality, testing, and QA!

I speak only for me. I do not speak for my employer, nor for anyone else.

dlai

Reged: 05/02/06
Loc: CA, USA
Re: New QA Manager [Re: Joe Strazzere]
      #697072 - 01/30/12 04:03 PM

I think first priority will be the defect reporting procedure and defect life cycle. No doubt you'll be forming test plans, these will change according to the needs and releases.

But one thing that'll linger around are bug reports. You'll want to...
* Come up with a common language for describing bugs. So it can be search able and easy to find existing bugs to avoid duplicate filings.