Links
Downloads

Software Testing >> Network & Distributed Testing

Pages: 1
Rebel_Soul

Reged: 01/06/09
protocol testing
      #541658 - 01/06/09 02:29 AM

Hi, I am a newbie in this field. Recently i have started to work for a R&D insitution. We are developing a protocol stack for wireless devices. Currently we have developed two layers (PHY and MAC) of our protocol stack, now its my job to test these layers by developing a test application. Right now i am numb and dont have any idea and confused about programming a test application. Although, ironicaly i have written a test document with many test scnearios, but still i am with cold feet.
Are there any white papers discussing how to test protocl(layer by layer basis), any example showing what does test application mean or how the test application interact with the different functions of each layer? I am unable to make a clear picture of the whole scenario. Any one with the experiece, plz guide me.

Best Regards
Rebel Soul

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
wookie919

Reged: 12/15/08
Re: protocol testing [Re: Rebel_Soul]
      #546696 - 01/29/09 04:09 PM

I used to work as a system tester at a company making network equipments such as switches and routers. The lowest level testing that I did that I can think of was performance testing a switch at layer 2 (frame switching based on MAC addresses).

It sounds like you need to build software "stubs" that would somehow test the software written for layer 1 (physical layer) and layer 2 (link layer) that will be used to drive the wireless network equipments.

All I can say to that is... wow, that is going to be so difficult. Wouldn't you basically have to write a program that simulates the actual wireless equipment (like a VM) and load the software that needs to be tested onto the simulated hardware, and test the connections between multiple instances of such simulated hardwares?