testing admin web applications

im new at qa i need to know how to test an admin
    systems that update mysql data base
    where to start from ?
    i have read Prasanna_W posts
    i thinking how to implement it at my company

Re: testing admin web applications

You may wonder if you have been abandoned, but in truth you are not telling us a hell of a lot that helps in providing you with some input. You have an admin system that stores data (who cares where it stores the data) in response to specific types of transactions (call them admin inputs if you like). You should know what these transactions are, what data they contain, what the use is of these data, and how these data would appear when you perform a future transaction. For example, a sysadmin may establish user access accounts. The test involves creating accounts (pass 1), then to try to access the system using those accounts (pass 2), editing the accounts (pass 3), and so on. If you can relate more clearly what you do in your admin application, then maybe some better suggestions might flow.
    Frits Bos, PMP

ok, i did my home work .
    now ,i have an web application its an advertiser server it helps advertisers manage there banners ,get reports atc..
    now ,before publishing it i need to test/qa it.
    (to be clear im a web developer). so i need to find a way to test all aspect of the application ,
    i want to start from functional testing (how do i do that , tools , logic atc..)
    10x for any help you can provide.