Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

First Book...

Hi all,

I'm intersted in buying a book on web testing. I think "Testing Applications on the Web: Test Planning for Internet-Based Systems" by Hung Q. Nguyen is a good choice however I'm not sure about 2 things:

1) Since I have no prior experiance in qaulity assurance, I thought maybe ot would be better to first read "Testing Computer Software", again by Nguyen. Can you advise on this?

2) Maybe "The Web Testing Handbook" by Steven Splaine is better. Which one do you prefer?

BTW, I'm a CS graduate --> I'm not a exactly a newbie. I'm new to the field of quality assurance in general and web testing in particular.

Thanks [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: First Book...

First, I'd suggest making sure that you get the Second Edition of Hung's book, which just came out.

Hung advises readers that his book is specialized to the web and that you should read a general-purpose introduction to testing first.

I don't know whether you need to go to an intro book first. Depending on the education you got in your school's CS program, you might have enough knowledge about testing, no knowledge about testing, or entirely incorrect knowledge about testing. Perhaps you should look the book over at your bookstore first (the web test book first, then the general purpose intros) and see what seems helpful.
    Cem Kaner, Professor of Computer Sciences, Florida Tech. kaner@kaner.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Steven Splaine's book is the best one I have seen.
    Corey Goldberg
    Homepage: goldb.org
    Twitter: twitter.com/cgoldberg
    Google+: gplus.to/cgoldberg

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Thank you for your replies.