Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Learning how to test Unix

I am an experienced QA Analyst who has never tested UNIX...I would like to learn how to test it...I bought the book "UNIX for Dummies" and I am reading it, but I don't know where to go next as far as applying what I learn. My environment is in Windows XP, I don't have any money (unemployed at this time) and I obviously have the time. Do you have any suggestions!! Thanks in advance [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    Elisa Derbes Murphy

Advanced Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Learning how to test Unix

Um...do you really want to test Unix? Based on the book you have, I'd be willing to hazard a guess that you want to learn is to be able to navigate and be functional within the Unix environment. I'll go off of this assumption. (If you really want to test Unix itself, you definitely have a long and arduous path in front of you.)

To become familiar with a Unix (or Linux)-like environment, there are a couple of paths you could take. The easiest would be to install Cygwin - http://www.cygwin.com/ . Alternately, you can root around and download and install one of the many Linux distributions available.

That should give you a start....
    Jason Trebilcock

"The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place."

-George Bernard Shaw, Irish playwright and Nobel Prize winner, 1856-1950

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Thanks for your suggestions!
    I see a lot of QA jobs that require UNIX Shell writing experience... Am I missing something here or is QA testing becoming QA/programming testing???
    Elisa Derbes Murphy

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

elisalu..