Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

UNIX vs NT - Which is Best?

I am a college student and doing a paper on UNIX/NT Operating Systems. I need some opinions on UNIX verses NT, either professional or personal. So far my research has lead me to believe that perhaps a combination would be the best way to go. Please let me know your thoughts. If you know of any Websites to visit that may help me I would welcome that info as well. Thank you.

------------------
    Rowland
    Rowland

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: UNIX vs NT - Which is Best?

You are going to have a hard time, in many cases, getting an unbiased answer to this one without, of course, using the systems yourself with a set of defined criteria that you are looking for (i.e., stability, hooks-into-API, firewalls, security), etc. They both have their strengths and weaknesses - regardless of what anyone tells you. Also keep in mind that even though Windows 2000 is built on Windows NT technology it is sufficiently different, in many respects, to be treated separately. Microsoft is pushing people to move to 2000 instead of NT and the smart ones are doing it (if they insist on a Microsoft shop). Keep in mind that within the UNIX world many are moving to Linux while others consider that a blight. Others insist FreeBSD is the way to go. Each offers features and problems that cannot always be encapsulated within the general term "UNIX."

You also have to specify what this is for. You say a combination might be the best way to go. But a combination for what? Is this for a Web environment? A general IT solution at a corporation? It can make a difference.

One place you might check out is http://www.unix-vs-nt.org/