Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Career Path for Sr QA Engineer

Since most of us reading this forum have extensive experience as a QA professional I am curious what a typical career path might be .... My history is as follows - I have worked as QA team lead, Sr QA Engineer in the IT industry with fortune 500 companies for the past 7+ years. I do have a CSTE and some other small tech certifications but I am looking to broaden my skillset in order to migrate to a management track. I am planning to pursue a Project Management cert in the next 4-5 months also. QUESTION -- have any of you found yourself in the position of being 35+ yrs of age with a similar background ....that being a rather narrow history in IT, mostly in the QA role....What types of paths are some of you looking for, QA manager positions, Project Managers, etc....Are there paths that I am not aware ?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Career Path for Sr QA Engineer

If you take a look at the chat forum you will see a thread based on people's background and how we ended up in testing. Maybe that will enlighten or depress you, depending on where you are headed, but it will at least demonstrate that there is no typical career path. However, you don't sound as though you have had such back luck in QA.

Step 1: Take stock of what you have accomplished in the past 7 years. Always operate from strength and build on that strength when possible. You are a QA lead / Sr. QA, and either you already have a background in managing people or you should try to develop those skills first.