Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Smile Job Discontinuance and Continued Quality Assurance Software Training

Hi everyone!!

I need some advise and help in regards to continuing my education. Last week, I got laid off from a large financial firm. I was a Quality Assurance Analyst for the past ten years. Here is the problem, the bank that I worked for was so in the stone age, it was ridiculous! We did all manual testing and never used SQL. After posting my resume on Monster, come to realize that companies now want Automated testing knowledge.

Can anyone tell me where I could get SQL, Loadrunner, QTP and maybe some additional QA training online? And at a low cost of course, since I"m currently not employed. I really appreciate any feedback as I am lost in the dark and need to amp up my career.

Thank you so much everyone!!
    Dee

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded
    Hi, Dee,

First up, do you want to automate? Test automating is code - not every tester wants that, and not every tester should want it. Manual testing is never going away, and there is employment for manual testers. It's just not "sexy" and too many places seem to think all it takes is the ability to follow directions (the fools... Anyone can follow directions. The ability to say "that's odd..." and chase down what's going on is rare and valuable).

That said, here are some suggestions for you:

Loadrunner and QTP aren't likely, since both are expensive tools. SQL, you can do a lot with Microsoft's SQL Server Express edition (free) and the online help for it. MySQL is another very good database that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

Selenium is a very popular free tool for automated testing of web applications, and has a fair amount of demand.

Good luck with your job hunt.

Advanced Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)