Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Can you recommend any QTP training? ...

I apologize in advance if this post is in the wrong forum and needs to be moved, but it seemed at first glance to be appropriate here.

I have a lot of WR experience but only a little exposure to QTP. I checked with HP and their classroom training is 5 days long and around $3800. I was hoping to find something 3 days long and accordingly cheaper.

Has anyone used any 3rd party QTP training that they would recommend?

Thanks very much in advance,
    Chris

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Can you recommend any QTP training? ...

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Thanks, Igor. I'll take a look.

Advanced Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

As for me, I learned Rational Robot by diving into it with a consultant helping out for two days. He got me fairly well up to speed and then I relied on the product documentaion and websites like this one to solve any problems I ran into.

When I made the switch to QTP, I started using it with no other transition beyond the product docs and SQA Forums. About a month into it my boss finally arranged to send me to L.A. for some official training by a Mercury partner.

However, in that one month of using QTP, I had already moved beyond anything that was covered in that 3-day training course. Not to knock the training, but it was the "intermediate" course and everything we learned seemed extremely basic to someone like me who had been doing automation for a couple years.

All I really needed was to transition the syntax and learn the gui. Any other hurdles were minor, and usually found with a quick search here on SQA Forums.