Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

If you don\'t have knowledge of a specific tool

Often during an interview, companies want to know about your experience with the specific tools (Test Automation tools, Load testing tools, Bug Tracking tools, etc) that they are currently using.

1) Let's say you haven't used those particular tools before, but have used others in that category. How do you answer?

2) Let's say not only haven't you used a particular tool, but you haven't used any in that category (for example, Web Services Testing tools). How do you answer?
    Joe Strazzere
    Visit my website: AllThingsQuality.com to learn more about quality, testing, and QA!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: If you don\'t have knowledge of a specific tool

I explain that I used to be a programmer and so was used to learning tools very quickly and give some examples - VB6, Visual Studio,SQL Server Management studio

though first I have to get past the agencies with their buzzword checklist and try to explain it to them

( in a positive and not a negative way )

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

...with a positive spin and sprinkled with a dash of confidence.
    "I have experience testing web services manually with the help of development resources but I have not had an opportunity to use 'tool xyz'. It will be great to have a tool to assist me with testing in this area. With a brief tutorial, I am certain I will be able to use it effectively."
    C~

Avatar courtesy of the DOW Chemical Company: http://www.dow.com/Hu/

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

I've run into this many times and finally come up with what I feel is the best answer IFF you now the product.