Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Interviewing for a management position

Hello everyone.

I have an upcoming series of interviews for a test manager position. This company currently does not have a test department. I will be in charge of forming a new testing department and this role will likely lead to an executive position there. I will be interviewing with the CIO and CEO.

I have been a test manager but have not had to interview for that role. I was promoted into the the role.

How can I best prepare for this type of interview? What types of questions are asked of test manager candidates? What types of questions should I ask them?

If I knew more about there internal infrastructure, it would be easier to present a potential game plan for the new department.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Interviewing for a management position

What is the difference between your role as a Test Manager, and the new role you are trying to fill?

Here are a few thoughts about your questions...

Prepare by reviewing your past work as Test Manager. Try to recall the kinds of things you did, and particularly why you did them that way. Think about the kinds of Test Department staffing and structural decisions you made in the past, and how they might apply to this new position.

Don't forget to learn as much as you can about this company, and about the people interviewing you, ahead of time. This will at least demonstrate that you are interested, and will potentially allow you to ask and answer questions better.

When interviewing a potential Test Manager, I like to ask questions trying to see
    - Are you a hands-on, or hands-off Manager?
    - What do you look for in candidates you hire?
    - How do you work with other departments?
    - Do you view QA/Test as a gatekeeper role, or something else?