Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Software packaging /Release Managment effects on testing

Does anyone have any experience with establishing "release Management", ie , the packagaing and deployment of software defects through system test environments, and migrating to "model office" user test environments, and ultimatley production environments?

The reason I am asking is that I am a systems testing manager within the healthcare industry. The software that my team tests is basically financial applications that deal with the payment of insurance claims, and the extracting and interfacing of financial payment data to internal and external interfaces. (Just to give you some background). My testers constantly find themselves "dead in the water" due to deployment issues (wrong versions of code pulled, shell scripts and sql scripts out of synch, etc). The company I work for is large and laborious, and the turnaround time for fixes for these incorrect deployments to system test environments can sometimes be 3-4 days, often followed by yet another improper deployment.

Not to mention, that it causes a lot of friction between test teams , development teams , and the release amangemtn teams. I have worked hard to maintain good relationships with these groups (we need them, they need us), but the relationships are breaking down as this situation is getting worse, not better , as we have deployed the same platform now to two large regions within the company, and will be bringing on a third.