Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

IXIA\'s Chariot - learning curve / features

I've been using LoadRunner heavily for about 6 months and we are considering moving to IXIA's solution for Performance and Load testing. However, our current schedules are short and I have 2 questions: 1) What is the learning curve on Chariot? (for a quick learner)
    2) How do the features of Chariot compare to LoadRunner when is comes to testing Web based applications?

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: IXIA\'s Chariot - learning curve / features

Hey, great question! I know both tools very well and actually wrote the first training class for Chariot (when it was ownder by Ganymede software) back in 1998. The class is fundamentally the same today as it was then. I have also worked for Mercury Interactive in both the sales and professional services organizations and have both held instructor credentials as well as evaluated instructors for the product. In short, I have a good feel for the engineered efficiencies of both tools.

The tool are not replacements for one another. IxChariot does not exercise the application, but instead represents the data flows generated across the network representing the behavior of the application. Press a button in an interface and a presentation layer conversation begins with a backend server host of some type. LoadRunner captures and replaces the client in the conversation, exercising the full application. IxChariot replaces client and server with endpoint processes and reproduces the set of flows associated with the application between a client endpoint and a server endpoint from the session layer of the OSI model (instead of the presentation layer as is most of LoadRunner).