User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

Regression Testing Frustrations

I am in the process of putting into place a structured regression testing policy into a company that has a demanding release schedule and no prior automated testing… I have had plenty of experience with Empirix load testing but am finding purely regression testing a pain, because of what surely, should be basic things:

1) Version control of scripts – non existent within the suite (which is ludacris) – what do other people do here outside e-test (CVS etc.)?

2) Maintaining scripts – record playback is fine but when you have 50+ scripts and a rapidly changing website finding and replacing values across “manually scripted” tools seems a hell of a lot easier.
    E-tester is great for quickly recording and playing back short dynamic scripts; and has enabled very quick and successful load testing cycles in the past… but in a more structured regression environment with more larger script... the GUI for everything approach becomes convoluted and time wasting.

3) Dynamically creating scripts from a template script – our site is multi lingual 8 languages so far and counting I am getting together a method of dynamically creating foreign language scripts from English “template” one… but gain, it is very painful – how do you guys manage this? Have you written a VBA app or just recorded multiple e-tester scripts for foreign languages?

4) Nightly regression tests – working on this at the moment… e-manager fills me with dread at the prospect of trying to regress 20 odd scripts against our new nightly build process with only a buggy html email sent with the results. Are any of you guys managing a large number of nightly regression tests with e-manager successfully?