User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

TextToColumns function seemingly does nothing...?

I'm a little new to automation and typically overcome these sort of newbie issues on my own, but I need a pointer on this one if someone can help.

Using TestPartner, I'm simply trying to write a function that will open a CSV file in Excel, execute the TextToColumns function, then save the file elsewhere. Upon executing the function, it runs and finishes without error. However, when I go to see the results, the file it saved off appears not to be modified at all. That is, it's as if the TextToColumns function was not even executed; the data is still in one big comma-delimited line.

If I instead take the TextToColumns line that I wrote in TestParter and paste it into an Excel macro, with a few syntactical changes, the code executes and turns everything to columns as expected. So, I don't understand why the same results aren't seen via TestPartner.

I appreciate any assistance. Thanks!

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>
    Public Function FnConvertTextToColumns(ByVal strFullFilePath As String, ByVal strFullFilePathToSaveFile As String, Optional ByVal intWorksheet As Integer = 1)

'Initialize Excel Object
    Dim objExcel As Object
    Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

'Set visibility to false
    objExcel.Visible = False

'Open a workbook
    Dim objWorkbook As Object
    Set objWorkbook = objExcel.Workbooks.Open(strFullFilePath)

'Set worksheet
    Dim objWorksheet As Object
    Set objWorksheet = objWorkbook.Worksheets(intWorksheet)

objWorksheet.Columns("A:A").TextToColumns Destination:=objWorksheet.Range("A1"), DataType:=xlDelimited, _
    TextQualifier:=xlDoubleQuote, ConsecutiveDelimiter:=False, Tab:=False, _
    Semicolon:=False, Comma:=True, Space:=False, Other:=False, TrailingMinusNumbers:=True

'Turn off alerts so we can overwrite existing files without getting prompted.
    objExcel.DisplayAlerts = False