SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How can I use the Start Menu...?

I'm feeling like a newbie here, but have exhausted 2 cups of coffee and too much time, so here I am again....

Using QAP 4.x or Silk 4.x I cannot seem to utilize the Start Menu in Win95/98/NT4 the way I think I should be able to.

I would like to do something like this...

Taskbar.Start.PopupMenu.Settings.Pick()

At this time I'm using TypeKeys but the hotkeys and <"UP">'s are not standard enough to utilize across the many platforms and PCs I am testing on. There has to be an easier way.

Chris Graham

Re: How can I use the Start Menu...?

Is there a reason why you aren't declaring the application in your test frame and then using the syntax of MyMainWin.Start(sCmdLine)?

Cynthia

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thanks for your reply. The applications that I test have excellent frames created, and they work beatufully.

For example I launch the Control Panel via
    This works very well across all of my platforms 95/98/NT. In my spare time I'm trying to figure out why it is I can't access the various Start menu items such as RUN, FIND, Control Panel, etc. via a simple menu selection. I see code for Taskbar and Start in WINCLASS.INC but so far have only met with varied success accessing the menu items via WindowID but not using caption/name.

Nothing critical, but an interesting project. I'm curious if anyone has a solution.

AJ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Here's what I learned after fooling around with the Start menu.

1. If you choose to select an item by it's index, you need to calculate it,