SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What is the best way to Learn SilkTest and the 4-Test Language?

I am new to QA testing using Segue SIlktest and Silk Performer. What are some steps to learn and get more familar with these tools?
    Should I spend thousands on training? I need to test E-Commerce not my ability to program or write scripts that work.

------------------
    what?

AJ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: What is the best way to Learn SilkTest and the 4-Test Language?

I would REALLY encourage you to spend the money on training... I'll tell you why:

1st You can never really learn the tool unless you take all you can from somebody who does.

2nd You can self teach yourself only so much... All the hidden features will never be explored.

3rd I met plenty of self taught users, but if your structure is wrong, it'll be close to impossible to succeed.

4th Most companies sponsor training classes, especially if they'll end us saving a ton of time flatenning the learning curve.

my 2c

------------------
    AJ Alhait
    BetaSoft Inc.
    AJ Alhait
    BetaSoft Inc.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'd also recommend taking an object oriented programming course, like Java or C++. Even a bit of C would not hurt as well. You'll learn good programming practice that you can apply to SilkTest.

I agree with the training as well, if there is not a guru available that can teach where you work, training is the best bet.

[This message has been edited by styler (edited 03-20-2000).]
    Steven Tyler
    Manager - Performance Engineering

Kronos Incorporated
    tel: +1 978 947 4219

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have been writing automated test suites for about 5 years. Originally started with MS Test (which became Visual Test), then moved onto QA Partner/SilkTest.