0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Seque methodology

Hello,
    I am fairly new with SilkTest. Silktest promotes a 6-phase methodology:
    Plan -> Capture -> Create -> Run ->
    Report -> Track

Must I follow that flow? Could I just go ahead, record a sample script and playback? I know that w/ Robot, you can dive right in w/ Record & Playback (I know, that's just an example; I myself am using an event-driven automation framework). Your feedback is appreciated.

------------------
    Regards,

BikerTech {at} SQATester [dot] com
    Thanks for your feedback.

BTTester

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Seque methodology

There is nothing in the tool that will stop you from doing what ever you want to with it.

In fact I use the tool a little differently than some people by keeping my test cases and test data in an access database and then launching Silktest from the access database. The results are then reported back the database.

I will say that the methodology Segue encourages is nothing more than good software development lifecycle practices.

I would say that I
    1. Planned my system(Test Cases.

2. Then I captured my Application Under Test (AUT)(Very good Idea to make the most use of Silktest.)

3. Create my Automated test cases.

4. Execute them from the system I build.

5 Report and Track the results in the access database.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First, "planning" your test doesn't mean you have to use a .pln-file. We never did for our huge data driven tests & never missed it (we use another tool for organizing our test data).

Second, I'd strongly support first to record the AUT, go over the recording result (rename objects in order to get readable and easy-to-edit scripts), and then to record your script(s).