Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SQA Knight
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

WinRunner expert considering switching.

I'm a veteran WinRunner user who's getting a little fed up with Mercury Interactive lisencing, and the possibility of product discontinuation. I've heard good things about SilkTest, and am considering a product evaluation. To this end, it would be greatly appreciated if someone could answser some general questions:

1) How well does Silk Test interface with java applications?

2) Can you load and call external functions written in a dll?

3) Is there a concept of a "gui map"? In other words, are the descriptions of gui objects stored in a separate file outside the test script?

4) Is the scripting language similar to C? Are there types? arrays, structures, functions?

5)Are the lisences site specific?

6) What is the list price for one SilkTest?

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: WinRunner expert considering switching.

Good to see you here!

The first question.
    "How well does Silk Test interface with java applications?"
    Silk does as well or better at interfacing with Java Applications. Java Object recoginition is top notch and getting better every day.

"Can you load and call external functions written in a dll?"
    Yes you can but they must be written in C. Silk doesn't know what to do with pointers.

"Is there a concept of a "gui map"? In other words, are the descriptions of gui objects stored in a separate file outside the test script?"

They are called Include Files. The objects are recorded in a "Frame" file that is imbedded into a .inc file. The include file can also contain functions and methods that you extend for the objects you have recorded. The inc file is a text file. It would be most like a .h file from C. They are much more powerful than Mercury's Gui Maps.