User Tag List

JQ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Verifying Children of VB Frames

Most dialogs in the SUT have controls nested inside a frame control, so if I use verifyproperties to verify the dialogs controls, only the frame control is verified.

I can't seem to figure out how to verify child controls of a VBFrame control. Do I need to write my own verification method and use GetChildren(), etc....?

I am new to SilkTest, so I very much appreciate answers to these rudimentary level questions.

Thanks,
    Jim

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Verifying Children of VB Frames

it's been awhile since having to deal with VB apps, but I'd recommond a couple things. In your frame, IGNORE the frames when it comes time to defining the children of that dialog box. You can "hide" the extra layer by adding to your tag statement, e.g.

instead of

window VBDialogBox MyDialog
    tag "My Dialog"

VBFrame MyFrame
    tag "My Frame"
    VBTextField MyField
    tag "My Field"

and referring to the object as MyDialog.MyFrame.MyField

You would HIDE the frame by including its identifier in the MyField frame, as here

window VBDialogBox MyDialog
    tag "My Dialog"

VBTextField MyField
    tag "[VBFrame]My Frame/My Field"

now you can refer to the object as MyDialog.MyField

to get a list of all of your objects I'd recommend using the WindowChildren() function as it returns those DEFINED in your framework, not those detected by the playback engine at runtime.

------------------
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>It doesn't matter if I go to heaven or to hell, I have friends in both places.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    <BLOCKQUOTE]<font size=1 face=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]quote:</font]<HR]It doesn't matter if I go to heaven or to hell, I have friends in both places.<HR]</BLOCKQUOTE]

JQ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged