SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How can I tell if a control is scrolled into view?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Silk, and having some problems.

I'm testing a web application using SilkTest 5.5 SP3 and IE6. Some of the pages are very long, and I'm having trouble with scrolling. ScrollIntoView() doesn't work (although it seemed to when I was using SP1 and IE5) and Click() doesn't automatically scroll controls into view either. I've got the Agent Options "Show windows that are out of view" and "Automatically scroll windows into view" both checked. But it's still not scrolling.

The controls that I need to click on are a mixture of push-buttons, drop-down lists and links. Most of the links bring up popup menus: the user has to select from the menu to navigate between pages. These popup menus do not work if they are off-screen when activated. So I do have to be able to scroll them into view.

By using TypeKeys(), I can scroll down a line or a page at a time. Trouble is, I need to know when I've reached the right part of the page.

I thought I could do this by trying Click(): if the control isn't visible, the click will fail and I can catch the exception and scroll down. However, it seems that either Click() consistently succeeds (even when the control is not visible) or consistently fails (even at the point where scrolling has brought the control into view).

Maybe I can find a way of getting around this problem too, but is there a nicer, simpler solution, either for scrolling itself or for identifying when I've scrolled far enough?

I apologise if I've missed something really obvious.

Thanks,

Abigail.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: How can I tell if a control is scrolled into view?

You might try to do following steps.
    - Use Browser.WaitForReady()
    - Use "<Ctrl-End>" and "<Ctrl-Home>" to set the page active.