SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

creating re-usable silk framework

I have been using silk for about 9 months now and have some questions.

I was browsing these forums the other day looking for a solution to a problem I was having with the HtmlPopupList class and a javascript OnChange event. I didnt get an answer that worked for me but I did notice someone mentioned that if your silk engineers are spending most of their time maintaining their silk framework they are doing something wrong.

We are constantly updating out silk framework for each project. When I talk about framework I mean our .inc files for that product, .t files, testdata, and baselines.

For instance, I was working on a product a couple months ago that proved extremely challenging for silk. The application worked very similar to MS Word and MS Outlook in many respects. Those applications were used to model the look and feel of our app.

We had a master window I guess you could call it. From that window you could launch many other windows that are all theoretically children of the master window but are also sort of like their own MainWin. To see kind of what I am talking about open MS Word and create 2 documents. Notice that they are both their and show up like seperate MainWin objects. If you do a file exit on one, it affects the other but to silk they look like 2 different applications.

Aside from dealing with this, which was almost impossible to create a basestate for, window titles were constantly changing, modules being added, menus switched around, and baseline files changing.

Now my question is this, am I doing something wrong or is it expected that with a moving target like this that we are going to spend alot of time maintaining the existing framework?