User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

call to Click() stalls on GetRect()

I'm a rookie at QA and SilkTest. Two months on the job, fresh out of school. Our company is developing a web portal application, and I'm stuck on something. I've written statements like "ThisPage.ThatButton.Click()" any number of times already in my career, but now I find a testcase is stalling, and when I look back at SilkTest as it's stalling, I see the small window showing the progress and see it stalled at ThisPage.ThatButton.GetRect(), sitting there until it apparently times out. At other times I've seen it saying ThisPage.ThatButton.Click(NULL, 18, 19), whereas I called it as Click() with no arguments.

I noodled around the Reference Manual and saw that the arguments are for the mouse button, and the x and y coordinates of the button being clicked. Running in debug, I saw that in htmlpage.inc (I think that was the name, I'm home now and have to use just my memory of it) it stalled in the GetRect() method, which apparently is part of a process of locating the midpoint of the button window. OK, I follow the idea, but why would it stall?

The testcase is a practice case, trying out a new idea I had of how to build it, and I ran it many times just fine before the problem started happening. And it succeeded a few times since it started stalling, but generally it stalls. I don't think I did anything to knock something over in the code and break it. I really haven't got a clue now where to go further. I looked for the ultimate source of Click() but couldn't find it.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: call to Click() stalls on GetRect()

A few queries regarding the post...

1. Let us know what method of test scripting you are using ? I have a feeling it is record playback.