Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Silk Test Eval

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Silk Test Eval

I'm currently evaluating Silk Test 5.5. Just received it Wednesday, and my Manager is giving me until tomorrow to automate a regression test scenario. Next week he wants me to do it in WinRunner, and whichever is the easist to use, he's planning to purchase. I have no Silk Test experience, and yesterday was my first time seeing the app. Is this realistic. I've been reading through the user's guide, but most of the examples are for functional testing, and I need to automate a System Test process. Basically, I need to automate configuring an order and getting it into a "submitted" status.

Can anyone give me some direction? How long did it take you to automate a scenario when you first started with Silk Test?

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Re: Silk Test Eval

Until tomorrow? Boy, you're in deep ****
    Can't negotiate with your Manager for a more reasonable amount of time?
    This automation stuffs does not happen overnight, ya know? Most of us have to go thru some Training Classes. It takes time.
    Your Manager must really think you are Superman or else he just want to get rid off you by tomorrow
    Good luck!

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Jeff,

The learning curve on SilkTest really depends on your coding experience. If you've programmed in Java or C++ before, you'll learn SilkTest quickly. The most important thing to understand is SilkTest is organized around classes, which provide methods to drive or observe objects.

For example;

HtmlLink is a class.
    Click () is a "drive" method
    BrowserPage.HtmlLink ("Home").Click () is a 4-test statement using these concepts.
    BrowserPage is defined by SilkTest already and always refers to the current page.

Hope this helps

Post Thanks / Like