SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Problem expanding folders

Dear All-

I am new to SilkTest, I am working for a small company and I AM the testing team! I need help with the following problem:

Background: I am testing a client application written in Java. I am using SilkTest 5.5

Problem: Expanding folders. Sometimes when I run the testcases the folders expand beautifully and the testcases run without any errors. However, other times I receive the error message listed below even though I have not modified any code. I cannot seem to find any rhyme or reason as to why this is happening? Comments?

Code: [ ] AC_Desktop.DesktopMain.ADOListsTab.ADOListsTreeVie w.Expand ("CURRENCIES")
    [ ] AC_Desktop.DesktopMain.ADOListsTab.ADOListsTreeVie w.Expand ("CURRENCIES VS. NLG")

Error Message: [-] Testcase ADO_Rename - 1 error
    [ ] *** Error: Item 'CURRENCIES' cannot be expanded
    [ ] Occurred in Expand
    [ ] Called from ADO_Rename at ADO_Operations.t(63)

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Problem expanding folders

From the documentation, you'll get an error if the selected item doesn't have children. If that's the case for you, wrap a do ... except routine around it and test for that error in the except block.

John

------------------

John-

Thank you for your reply. However, these folders are like rabbits, they have tons of children!

See new screenshot. I am quite convinced it is a bug in SilkTest unless someone can convince me otherwise. . .

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Using do...except, you could try the expand several times. If the problem is intermittent, try collapse first, then expand.

Hope this helps.

------------------
    John W Green
    jwgreen@automationexpertise.com
    http://www.automationexpertise.com

Thanks. I'll fiddle with it.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged