User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Record Testcases

Hi All,

I am fairly new to testing world and I have taken up testing a c/s application developed in VC++.

As adviced by some gurus, I started reading Segue's manual and walked myself through the entire process once.

It worked fine with a sample application called GMO in Silk but what I could not understand is that I keep working on one test frame named cstut.inc (named as suggested by Segue manuals)upto creating a test frame and then, once I reach "Creating testcase" step, Silk suddenly starts working on gmoc.inc instead of cstut.inc.

(This happens on page # 95 of Silk test: Getting started tutorial.)

Where does this .inc file come from and how do I generate it for my application?

I am all confused.

Please help!

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Record Testcases

Hi Parag,
    Do not get confused. Basically a .inc file contains GUI object decalarations of your applications. Also global variables can also be declared in this. When you recognise a window in Silk, it gets recorded in the .inc file. You can even see it by opening the file. Do not change anything in it until you are aware of it. You can test it by recognizing any window. While playing back a script, .inc file is read and agent works on the application.

------------------
    Manoj Jain
    (manojjain99@yahoo.com)
    Manoj Jain
    (manojjain99@yahoo.com)
    A highly advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Try following Steps

1) File-New-Include file-
    2) Record window declartion- Capture ur application window - pointing by mouse and pressing Ctrl+Alt - save it to inc file-save inc file
    3) File -New 4test script file
    4) Record- Record Testcase-save
    5) Run Script

-amit

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned