User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tutorial on SilkTest

Hi All,
    I want to know how easy (or how tough) is it to learn and use SilkTest in terms of time and effort. I have no experience in using testing tools, but have considerable experience in testing and in coding in C and Java. Are tutorials or evaluation copies available on the net? I could not find any. Please help.
    Thanks in advance,
    Nikhil

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Tutorial on SilkTest

If you can code in C and/or Java, you can code with Silk & 4Test. It is just another language, and is really a very "forgiving" language. The syntax is straightforward and all the routines you would use in Java/C will apply and work with 4Test. The things that will throw you for a loop for a bit are the GUI/Tool specific functions; getting it set up to run in your environment, etc. Once you have that, but tool is robust and potent.

Good luck.

------------------

[This message has been edited by DJGray (edited 04-02-2002).]

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi,
    I am unaware of any trial downloads.
    You may try with www.segue.com and ask
    their support.

If you can code in C, Java it should take
    you a two-three weeks to get familiar with
    programming in 4Test.

-Niteen

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thanks for the replies.
    I can not find any trial downloads on the net or at www.segue.com. If I buy the software from Segue, how do I go about learning 4Test? Does the software come with sufficient documentation.
    I have come across many courses that are available at many centres. Are there any tutorials or materials available on the net. If its not a big trouble can someone please send me any available material on this at nk159@hotmail.com
    Thanks,
    Nikhil