SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Trouble with menu identification

I'm kind of new to SilkTest and I'm writing a test script for a Windows application that has two basic states. My trouble is that each state has a 'File' menu with completely different menu items. I captured and declared each File menu as a seperate object and inserted them both into my MainWin declaration. (both have single tags that default to "File")

To keep them seperate, I specified a unique child object in each of their tags. ex:
    State1: "File/[MenuItem]Save Session"
    State2: "File/[MenuItem]Save File"

After declaring them as above, my test scripts can check which menu "Exists()" and go from there. This method seems to work fine to identify the different menus. The only problem is that now I can't access any of the 'File' menu items. I keep getting errors saying the MenuItem can't be found.

If I change the tags back to "File", I can access all the MenuItems just fine, but I don't know which menu (and which Application State) is currently running. What do I have to do to be able to access the MenuItems while keeping the declarations seperate? ...Or do I have to go about this a different way? Any advice appreciated... Thnx.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Trouble with menu identification

Just checking on something...

The tag you specified for the different File Menu objects should look like this:
    The ".." on the end tells SilkTest to go back up one level. Without that, SilkTest will think that the File Menu object has a tag of File/[MenuItem]Save Session" (for example) and any reference to what you think are the File Menu's children will be looking for children of the MenuItem "Save Session".

I hope this helps.

- Dave

------------------
    Amelior Technology
    dreed@ameliortech.com
    WaltzingRhino.com