SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dynamic Links, How To???

Well, I dug through the search engine and the best I could come up with is this. http://www.qaforums.com/Forum1/HTML/001795.html
    I have a similar problem. I have a help desk sort of web site that, depending on the query string input, returns a dynamic list of resulting links. I need to be able to click on a random (any) link from the dynamically generated list. The links are in an HTMLTable. I then need to be able to verify that the page corresponding to the dynamic link comes up.

On another note, the application sidebar menu uses a bold link to show which menu choice is currently active. Is there a way to determine whether a link is highlighted (bold) or if it's a <TH> tag (vs a <TD> tag)?

I'm not a complete newbie to SilkTest. I've used it with some success to automate a VAC++ application suite but this is my first venture into Web Testing. I generally just record the declarations and code the rest. I have yet to work via "record and playback".

Any help appreciated...

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Dynamic Links, How To???

Well, what I've come up with is a workaround (as usual) to try and deal with a dynamic link list. My list is numbered and the Recorder SEEMS TO have the ability to record a Prior Text multitag. From the recording of the declarations that I have been playing with, capturing the Prior Text would probably work for me, but I have yet to make this work sufficiently.
    This seems like it would be a common problem.
    Has anyone had success with using Prior Text multitags or any other method of dealing with a dynamic and numbered list of links (that reside in a table, that resides in a frame)????

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Jake,