SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Testing Java applications (JDK/JRE/JavaScript)

User Niranjan Khare (niranjankhare@hotmail.com.nospam) posted:

Hi all,

I am completely new to testing java with Silk. I have IE5.5 and JDK
    JavaTM 2 SDK, Standard Edition
    Version 1.3.1
    I have tried to follow Silk help (on Using JDK and JRE) to try and record an JavaScript Treeview control and I get a recording only for HTML frames. and Links.

Can somebody send me step by step instructions to setup java support in Silk? I have lots of queries like:

1. I have SilkTest 5.3.02 and IE 5.5 and I use VO mode.should it work or do I need DOM
    2. I have heard a lot of complaints about Silk and IE5 as well as IE 5.5. How do these affect testing for JavaScript?
    3. If I have JDK installed, do I still need to set the CLASSPATH to the Silk Jar File?
    4. I am at the bottom of the ladder for all this java stuff. What implications does JDK/JRE/JavaScript have when testing using silk?
    Can somebody point me to a simple enough webpage or something ON which I can try out this stuff?

Thanks,
    N

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

// =====================
    // The Persistent Bugger
    // =====================

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Testing Java applications (JDK/JRE/JavaScript)

Are you trying to record a JavaScrirpt Tree Control (which would be recorded as HTML) or a Java Tree Control (which would be JavaJFCTreeView or custom class)? There is a major diffrence between Java and JavaScript, even though they both start with "Java", they are completely unreleated.

That said, on to your questions.

1. I prefer DOM mode, it is much more realiable when testing web applications. However, you should have Hot Fix 3 (5.3.03).