User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Beginning SilkTest

Hello,

I'm new to the testing arena. Our product is web-based and most of the testing is done manually. I really need help with automated testing. I'm currently running SilkTest 5.5 with HF3 on Windows 2000 Professional.

I declared window a and b. When I record and playback, Silktest doesn't know where to go. I used the window identifier but silk recognizes objects that are in window a in b. By not recognizing the objects in every page, silk would go to the wrong page.

I called support (useless) and they told me to defined my declaration with a unique object tag on each and every page. This can be time consuming and doesn't always work right since silk cannot recognize certain objects. Is there a work around for this problem?

One more question, are there benefits in using multi-tags versus single when recording window declarations?

Any help is appreciated.

Thank You

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Beginning SilkTest

One good place to begin with is silk test documentation. Especially the users guide.
    I found it quite useful.

mail me at srikanthu@yahoo.com if you have any problems. I am a beginner too, but can of some help to you.

I also found this forum to be very helpful. Spending some time everyday browsing through the queries others post itself will update your knowledge pretty faster.

Cheers!!
    Srik

------------------

[This message has been edited by Srikanth (edited 08-23-2001).]

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

As for multi-tags, I have found them to be more of an effort than their worth. SilkTest often gets confused and brings up the wrong window object. But I have only tested in an application environment, not on a web site.

------------------
    Robert

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged