K12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Instructions for getting started.

Hey,
    I am sorry if this is wasting anyones time but I was referred here by a mate. I have literally just started SilkTest and am receiving conflicting advice on where to begin. Test Plans, Test Frames, test cases etc ! So could someone please give me the best outline for creating tests for a web based app.
    I am a complete novice here w no automation experience.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Instructions for getting started.

Hey k12

Your getting conflicting information because you are talking to different people. If you were to talk to a manager or pm the most important thing about tests are test plan documentation. Certainly at some point you had better know what it is you are trying to accomplish, but face it you also have to learn how to use Silk.

Experianced Testers tend to stress more complex issues, like test organizer.

If you were to talk with me I think the best thing to start with is the User Referance.
    Start with test frames because you want to get STARTED doing the job. The basis for all the work you do with Silk begins at the Test Frame level.

Learn it well grasshopper! Then write test casses off that test frame, and others. When you start getting good at that (and confident) only then will you be ready for Test Organizer. (I know you didn't throw in TO I though I would for you .. because you are going to hear about it)

Some people by the way do a wonderfull job in QA without Test organizer.Many poeple however do eventually use it.

Have fun with it .. I think all of us deep down still do. No matter how many years I put into QA, I gotta admit there is still some magic watching forms mysteriously fill themselves out and buttons push themselves.

------------------
    "Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!"
    Sincerely
    Richard Weth