Thread: Initial advice

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Initial advice

Hi,

I am fairly new to SilkTest. I am going to start on Automation of one of Web Applications . I would like to get some expert advice from the Gurus on

What are the basic things to be brought in place before starting

What precautions to be taken before starting off

How to maintain the inc files & ini files for portability and maintainability

What are the best practices that people have known through experience

What are the most common mistakes that a beginers make

And finally what are the most dangerous things that have to be avoided

Any suggestions/comments are most welcome

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Initial advice

One piece of advice is not to rely on recording testcases. This is great for finding out quickly what silktest code looks like, but the scripts produced tend to be sub-optimal in terms of maintainability, extensibility etc. Window declarations on the other hand, are essential, and effort put into getting these right early on will be repaid later.

Also, don't bother with bitmap comparisons. The only way these work are when you have the set-up exactly the same each time (same OS, same screen resolution, same colour settings, and most importantly, your app/website never changes in the way it is displayed), you will spend many hours/days checking through pairs of bitmaps that are slightly different but are the same in all relevant details. If you want to do comparisons on the displayed output of your app/site, use GetText() and such methods so that the script can read in displayed text. Another way which can work very well is comparing outputs to text file, if these are available from your app/site.