SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Re: How do you handle Dynamic HtmlLinks?

chekm8,

sounds like you've been playing the Sicilian Defense too much : )
    therefore, you forgot to tell us exactly what your problem is...
    did u consult with bobby f. or anatoly k. first to see if you can salvage a draw?
    u can also check things out with Fritz or M-chess...
    what kind of errors are you getting?
    how does this HtmlLinks look like in your declarations?
    if it's dynamically changing, are you using the Caption, Window ID, Index, or ...?

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi Gilbert,

Maybe I should be spending more time playing chess...when I stated I was a relative newbie, I wasn't kidding...but if you can help me out, I would be extremely grateful...the error message I received stated: Window [HtmlLink]somename could not be found. When I capture HtmlLinks it records the Caption, and Index - in the declarations. I know I stated that the App I was testing was a Java Based Web Application...but when I try testing, something like Hotmail - where the HtmlLinks for incoming messages change dynamically, I also run into the same problem. Thanks again for any help you can provide.

chekm8

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

if the object you are working with is dynamically changing, then perhaps you should not use the Caption as its tag.
    If your HtmlLinks caption shows "Name1" when you record your declarations and at runtime this caption changes to "Name2", of course, you'll get a "not found" error. Try using another tag such as the Index or Window ID. Or if the captions always start with a predefined set of characters like "Name1", "Name2", "Name3", etc. then you can use the wildcard "Name*" as your caption.