SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Silk 5.0 Problems

I'm using SilkTest 5.0 on WinNT 4.0 SP5 with MS Internet Explorer 5.0 to test a web application. We're just really getting the QA effort off the ground and I'm sort of spearheading the automation testing development. I just started playing around with Silk about a month ago. I've intended to start off by replicating our most common manual tests as 4Test scripts and then move on to a more structured, robust suite of tests, but I've run into so many problems using Silk that I haven't been able to fully replicate a single one of our manual tests. The software, in so many cases, just doesn't seem to work the way it's intended to. Every time I think I've got everything figured out and I'm ready to bang out the rest of the script, I run into some problem that as far as I can tell should work the way I'm doing it and I have to spend a couple days analysing the problem and finding a workaround. A short list of examples:

- Silk doesn't seem to recognize tables correctly when there are columns containing only objects (htmlcheckboxes and htmllinks specifically in my case). It sees the text columns of the table as their own table and the objects in the other columns are recognized as separate from the table.

- If an HtmlLink is immediately preceded by an HtmlCheckbox, Silk doesn't see it. Using the Record Window Identifiers tool and moving the mouse pointer over the link shows that the link is recognized as the HtmlCheckbox (both the link and the checkbox together are seen as one object, the checkbox. If you do anything to the object if only affects the checkbox).

- SetFocus() never works. On any objects, in any web page.