User Tag List

Thread: Dynamic Forms

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dynamic Forms

I am testing a website that as hundreds of different request forms. These forms are pretty simple, just a number of textboxes, dropdown menus, check boxes and buttons. I have no problems recording them one at a time, and getting testcases to fill out and submit the forms. But I don't want to have to record every single form, they are all very similar.

Is there a way to have Silk look at the page, figure out how many textboxes, drop down menus, etc. are on the page and then fill out and sumbit the form accordingly?

I'm not a programmer, most of my cases are pretty simple - record/playback stuff.

Any help is appreicated.
    Tim

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Dynamic Forms

As of my knowledge goes Silk can not determine hoe many controls are exisitng on the page for entering data. You need to determine and construct yr testcases to enter data.

If Silk figure out how many are thre still entering data is a problem. Hope u got the point.

[This message has been edited by sree (edited 02-07-2001).]
    Sree

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

There is no shortcut to this. You may want to read up on "winclass" topic from the Online Help.
    Even if you are able to come up with just one declaration for the many pages you are talking about, you still need to introduce to SilkTest (via Record/Window Declarations...) the controls that are unique in each page, cut and paste, and throw away the rest.