User Tag List

Thread: Evaluating Silk

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Evaluating Silk

I'm currently evaluating SilkTest and WinRunner to determine which tool best suits our automated testing needs. We currently test everything manually. Our programs are on the AS/400 (in RPG) but we are starting to develop on Windows NT and we want to use the testing tools on both systems. I will be the primary person using whichever tool we choose but I have no programming experience. How much programming does SilkTest (or Winrunner) require? If I need to take programming classes before I can use the tool, what would be best to study?

All responses and advice are appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Evaluating Silk

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gastewart:
    I will be the primary person using whichever tool we choose but I have no programming experience. How much programming does SilkTest (or Winrunner) require? If I need to take programming classes before I can use the tool, what would be best to study?
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've been on a team of about 5 people and we have Silk available for the group to use. I personally have seen that those of us with programming experience have quickly adapted to how SilkTest works and those who don't have programming experience have been at a disadvantage.

The fact is, in order to write robust and powerful automated tests in Silk, you must know how to program those tests in 4Test. And learning 4Test is just like learning any other language -- the more experience you have in programming, the easier it will be. I think 4Test is a pretty straightforward language that's relatively simple for someone with programming experience to pick up. But again -- it is programming.