User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

data verification of randomly generated strings

hi,
    i'm new to silk and can't seem to figure out how to verify data which is randomly generated. the randomly generated value is listed as a string.

However, the below listed code fails at the line which attempts to return the value to the boolean statement
    (sSelectedValue)
    [ ] Print (sSelectedValue)
    [ ] Return BrowserPage.HtmlText (sSelectedValue)
    [ ] Verify (BrowserPage.HtmlText (sSelectedValue). Exists (), TRUE)
    [ ] LogWarning ("Randomly Selected Asset Type {sSelectedValue} was found")

any help you can provide would be appreciated.

thanks,
    esme

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: data verification of randomly generated strings

Hi,

The 'return' keyword in SilkTest is used to pass control from a function to it's calling fucntion (ie the last thing you should have in a function). Try removing the line with the return statement and see if your script works. Alternatively, if this is the line that you want to use to populate the variable, you should use a method, such as GetText () (ie BrowserPage.HtmlText (sSelectedValue).GetText ()), but in this case you will need to use a different menthod of identifying the control on the screen (such as the index).

I hope this helps,

Paul

Paul Tucker
    Automation Expertise Europe http://www.automationexpertise.com
    Paul Tucker
    Automation Expertise Europe
    http://www.automationexpertise.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

[QUOTE]Originally posted by esmesqualor:
    [B]
    used the GetText command to define the string sSelectedValue. The value will print correctly it just won't passt o the boolena statement. my question now is, is it possible to pass a string to a boolean statement?
    =========================