User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tags are not being recognized by Agent

Dear Folks,
    I am new to SilkTest (am using 5.0.3.1) and am testing a web application with pages with non-unique captions but different contents. The Window Identifier and testcases correctly assign object identifiers to those pages with unique captions but the Agent seems unable to process the approved method for identifying these windows:

BrowserChild NonUniqueWindow
    tag "[BrowserChild]Non-unique Caption/[ChildClass]Unique Child Tag/.."

I have tried variations of this but have had no success at runtime. I am using IE5 with the VO. The DOM, at least as I had it set up, did not work either.

If this method does not work, would the dynamic assignment of tags or some other method get around this problem? Can one customize the tagging function to use the URL or hidden aspects of the page header?

[Segue also has not been very helpful at all]

Regards,
    Michael

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Tags are not being recognized by Agent

one way to hack it is to make your tag a function that returns a string, effectively what the ".." is trying to do, e.g.

<code>
    BrowserChild MyPage
    tag FetchTag()
    </code>
    where FetchTag is defined as...
    <code>
    STRING FetchTag()
    if BrowserPage.HtmlHeading("something unique goes here").Exists()
    return "#1"
    else
    return "#999"
    </code>

... or better yet, as bret did on earlier thread, get devs to make unique page titles. it's not an out of bound request these days to include a core requirement that product must support test automation efforts. it's the 00's after all. :-)

hope this helps.

------------------
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>It doesn't matter if I go to heaven or to hell, I have friends in both places.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>