SPONSORS:

User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Silktest -vs- Robot

Does anyone have a detailed comparison between Rational Robot and Segue Silktest that they can share with me? If you can please respond back as soon as possible, thanks.

AJ
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Silktest -vs- Robot

The easiest comparason:

SilkTest (need to know C and some OO)
    Robot (need to know Basic)

Robot has more GUI interaction where Silk is script interaction

Find out how many people use Robot in your area and how many use SilkTest... That helps when you want to recruit more people.

------------------
    AJ Alhait
    BetaSoft Inc.
    AJ Alhait
    BetaSoft Inc.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I understand the basic difference (I am a VB programmer and a 4Test programmer). I was looking for a written side-by-side comparisin between the two products, ie:host/target, programmatic functionality, etc...

Thanks
    Scott

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Scott

As far as I know there is absolutely nothing out there like what you are asking for. I think at some point everyone in this forum who is Senior has been asked to evaluate EVERY combination of tools.

Fact is the market really isn't very favorable to test automation companies, that do technical comparisons. I have seen Segue and Mercury Interactive "pander" to the record and playback "pack" for close to 3 years now.

Quite honsetly if such a study were to have been done, I am about 99.8% certain that this forum, or one like it which I susbscribe to would have picked it up.

Everytime I ask Segue or WinRunner (the supposed Top Dogs) about any of these product comparisons they give me a "subjective" white letter attack against the other products.

Being familiar with both products yourself