User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

How to optimize productivity from QA lead?

I am a project manager for team where I'm struggling to foster a productive work relationship with our QA lead. He leads a team of 3 other QA professionals and by far has the most experience. He's pleasant to work with and works harder than almost any other IT professional I've worked with in my 20 years in a software dev environment.

On the surface he seems to be the consummate QA professional, but his shortcomings have become a major obstacle to our team's success. His EXTREMELY deliberate, methodical approach consistently results in delayed completion of test execution and often slows down the rest of the project team inhibiting on schedule, on budget and on scope project delivery. He has great difficulty multi-tasking and really struggles with prioritizing, estimating and time-boxing his work. I have tried giving him specific, time-bound directions, which he often misses because of his overwhelming desire to find the proverbial needle in the haystack with every test he performs. I've also tried coaching him on the concept of minimum viable product and user acceptance criteria that our customers define, and that sometimes "good enough" is better than "perfection".

For the level of effort he puts in to testing, he produces very few defects. When he finds defects, many of them are de-prioritized because he has difficulty understanding delivering the RIGHT value for customers. He tends to mark every defect found as critical and as something that MUST be fixed in order to meet HIS acceptance criteria. He will create an inordinate number of test cases for even basic business/functional requirements or use cases, and will execute them repeatedly within each test cycle in the hopes he can find defects with each test execution.