Hi all, I'm a noob around here, looking for some advice and/or guidance on setting up virtual servers for running JMeter load testing against other virtual servers. Here's the deal:

I am not a programmer, but I'm a decent copycat. I am a QA tester for a company that develops Java web servlets, typically running out of Tomcat but we have some WebLogic deployments as well. I have JMeter scripts that a coworker gave me that I have been tweaking to run on some specific projects I am assigned to. One of these is to develop load test capabilities for blasting high volume of HTTP requests into a new servlet we are developing.

Back when I was running JMeter on my local laptop through VPN into our data center in a remote location, I could get the test to complete in the allotted time. Before our load test got to be such a large JMeter script this was a fairly routine practice. Recently I have been given creds to use virtual servers located in the data center. I have installed JMeter v2.5 with Tomcat JRE 7u51 and run a few tests but I am having no luck getting these virtuals to perform on par with my laptop. My big load test script will complete in less than 24 hours from my laptop, but it takes twice as long to make the run from the virtual installations. My Ops guys are looking into beefing up the performance in the virtuals but they are asking me some nosy questions about my implementation of the load test and they want me to find out if my JMeter could be the problem and not their servers. So, here I am, snooping around for what information I can find that might improve my testing.