Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Anyone know how to specify the datapool start and end rows?

Hi all:

Having been a WinRunner user for a long time, I am new to Robot. As such, there are a few concepts on which I am running into difficulty.

Currently, I am trying to write a data driven test script where all a user would have to do is specify the starting row and the ending row from the datapool (for instance, the test will start with row 4 and continue until row 8). In WinRunner, specifying which row to start and end a test run was handled fairly easily and the tester would just change two numbers in the beginning of the script and all is well. However, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do that in Robot.

Any clues?

Many thanks in advance!

Eric

"Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast"
    - Ace Rimmer
    Eric
    ~~~~
    Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast
    - Ace Rimmer

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Anyone know how to specify the datapool start and end rows?

Unfortunately you have to loop to the start row and count until the last row you want to end with. If you are bent on using datapools, which is not a very elegant solution as you've seen by now, then wrap this up in a function. Other alternatives are to use ADO recordsets directly from the csv files or from excel files, or to use excel files and access them using COM Object.

Max

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Thanks, Max, for the tips. I found two old threads on this topic and am trying to adapt something to my needs. At least I have the concepts needed to get this to work...