Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Manipulating datatable iterations

Noob here. I did a search and couldn't find any solution to this:

I'm using VBscript functions instead of actions. In my test, i use 3 datatables:

Global - To determine what test scripts to run for different products (Sheet1, Sheet2, Sheet3....etc.)

Sheet1 - Actual test scripts to run for product A (Step1, Step2, Step3...etc.)

Sheet2 - Actual test scripts to run for product B (Step1, Step2, Step3...etc.)

Scenario:

When my test begins i would like to read the Global datatable and locate the Sheet to run (eg. Sheet1), then read the appropriate Sheet and iterate through that Sheet and run the steps. When it is done with the first Sheet, it moves on to the next Sheet on the Global datatable (eg. Sheet2) and then does the same thing.

Problems:

1) I can't figure out a way to loop through the other sheets without writing a loop myself. QTP's loop functionality only seems to serve the Global datatable.

2) Test Results - The default test results feature in QTP only reports the pass/fail status for each iteration in the Global datatable. I would like to have it report for the other Sheets as well.

3) Error Handling - I have the test settings set to proceed to next iteration when an error occurs. During run time, the test moves to the next iteration on the Global datatable instead of the next iteration on the action sheet as intended.

Maybe i'm just missing something here. But i have searched the forum extensively and also the user guide with no success. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Manipulating datatable iterations

Help, anyone?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded