Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

QTP Testing from scratch

Hi All,

I am new to QTP.I would like to know,how the testing of applications starts from scratch in real time environment based on the below 2 options

1)are the testing people build the object repository and add the steps manually or

2)are they use record and playback?

when the 1st option is used?

when the 2nd option is used?

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: QTP Testing from scratch

Go through posts mentioned in the below link

http://www.sqaforums.com/showflat.ph...e=0#Post402552

There are few that discuss about object repositories also

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

[ QUOTE ]

1)are the testing people build the object repository and add the steps manually or

2)are they use record and playback?

when the 1st option is used?

when the 2nd option is used?

[/ QUOTE ]

Adding objects first and then writing the script is better and mature approach over record & playback.

WHY?
    (1)It reduces duplicacy of objects in repository.
    (2)The script contains the exact code to perform an task ..no extra code which is simply just get recorded otherwise doesn't contribute to the script functionality.

(3)By writing you have more control over script and it does exactly what you want it to do.

(4)IF you working on shared repository, one person can take the responsibilty to maintain repository..other can simply write the script using those objects.

(5)As reusability is achieved more by writing scripts to perform a single task and then that script could be reused anywhere.

So list goes on and on.....

Go for script writing..that is better approach.
    Vishal Aggarwal
    Test Architect
    http://testocean.blogspot.in/

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)