Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Manual or Automation..... Either has to be poor?

Hi All,
    I have been working on QTP for over 2 years now and a question had been hitting my mind since afternoon when I met my team for the Project Brainstorming...

I thought it would be good to post this in this forum as we have huge number of guys with excellence in testing.

Does writing Test Cases to a User Story mean automating it? Don't hit on with your answers unless you have the answers to my next few lines Please....

If not then why write it?
    If Yes then do testers always test what is covered in the Test Cases?
    If Not then Why write it? If Yes then
    Why are the bugs found in the system not from the Test cases directly....
    I personally see that most of the defects found are really a outcome of the manual testing where the tester enters a area no where listed in the cases...

Secondly Do we really automate what we manually test?

Cheers
    Natwarlal
    Natwarlal

I build applications to test applications.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Manual or Automation..... Either has to be poor?

[ QUOTE ]
    Hi All,
    I have been working on QTP for over 2 years now and a question had been hitting my mind since afternoon when I met my team for the Project Brainstorming...
    <font color="blue">IMHO, if you have been using QTP for over 2 years you should be able to answer some of this yourself</font>

I thought it would be good to post this in this forum as we have huge number of guys with excellence in testing.

Does writing Test Cases to a User Story mean automating it? Don't hit on with your answers unless you have the answers to my next few lines Please....

If not then why write it?
    <font color="blue"> How you going to effectively test a system without test cases? </font>