Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Quit Test on Runtime Error, how to?

I tried searching for this topic and could not really find what I am looking for. So, please point me to the correct topics if this has been brought before.

What I want is to have the test stop and exit for any error that QTP detects (object not found, ect). We will have several scripts that will run at night. So, I want to be able to stop/exit a test if any error occurs, report whatever happened, and the go on to the next test script.

My question is, how should I go about creating something that will stop/exit the test on any error? I thought, that I may put at the beginning of my script some IF or WHILE statemant that keeps the test running until it encounters an error. I tried looking at recovery scenarios, but not sure if that is going to accomplish what I want.

I am fairly new to VBS, so any code examples you can provide would be helpful.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Quit Test on Runtime Error, how to?

Sorry, I meant to maybe try a DO WHILE/UNTIL statement instead of the WHILE listed above.

Advanced Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

The problem with a loop like you suggest is that it will only be checked once, at the start or end of your script. If an error occurs in the middle, your loop won't know about it until the end of the loop, or the next iteration (depending on how you set up the loop).

You're right about recovery scenarios. Those typically just click a button, or close the application entirely, or reboot your machine. It's hard to make a recovery scenario close the current test iteration or script but continue with the next iteration or script.